HB 3170 Passes Oregon House

Share This

Oregon’s public university research faculty are one step closer to having a voice in their workplace. Yesterday, the Oregon House of Representatives passed AFT-Oregon's priority bill for the session, House Bill 3170, by a bipartisan vote of 36-23. Now that this bill has passed the House, it will move to the Oregon Senate.
This important bill will give public university research faculty the same ability to join a union and collectively bargain that other Oregon university faculty have. 
Because they are currently prevented from joining or forming a union, these faculty members have no say in their wages, benefits, and working conditions on the job. They also lack protections for academic freedom, which can subject their research work to the whims of national politics.
The bill was carried by Rep. Margaret Doherty (D-Tigard) and was supported by members including Speaker Tina Kotek (D-N/NE Portland), Majority Leader Jennifer Williamson (D-Portland), Speaker Pro Tempore Paul Holvey (D-Eugene), Rep. Dan Rayfield (D-Corvallis), Rep. Barbara Smith Warner (D-Portland), Rep. Julie Fahey (D–West Eugene & Junction City), Rep. Paul Evans (D–Monmouth), Rep. Janelle Bynum (D–Clackamas), Rep. Chris Gorsek (D–Troutdale) and Rep. Greg Smith (R-Heppner).