Sizemore's "federal case" rejected by court

Share This

A Federal Court has rejected Bill Sizemore’s effort to make a “federal case” of everything that’s happened to him over the last decade reaching all the way back to his 2002 jury trial where AFT-Oregon and OEA successfully sued his organizations under the state’s civil racketeering law. U.S. District Court Judge James Mossman dismissed all of Sizemore's claims “with prejudice,” a legal distinction meaning he cannot re-file the same claims.

His effort sought Court support and unspecified damages for his arguments, primarily under the U.S. Constitution’s First Amendment, that all previous action and decisions damaged his reputation and credibility, and that the defendants’ actions have caused him a loss of liberty, property and income, as well as inflicting severe emotional duress. He also cited as violations of his First Amendment rights and his ability to make a living, the voter-approved ballot measure banning pay-by-the-signature in initiative campaigns, and court-ordered restrictions on his ability to found charitable non-profits. He also addressed the state’s offer to his wife a deal to testify against him in his tax delinquency case; the Supreme Court and the ultimate dismissal of the Oregonians for Honest Elections $10-million lawsuit against AFT-Oregon and others from the 2010 election. Y=There’s no word on whether he plans to appeal the dismissal.

 “William Sizemore v. AFT-Oregon et al.” in addition to AFT-Oregon, named AFT President Randi Weingarten (as an individual), OEA, the current and past presidents of OEA, the current and former Secretary of State, the current and past Oregon Attorneys General, two state attorneys at Oregon Department of Justice, and two judges – the judge in the original 2002 law suit and jury trial, and the one who sent him to jail for a day because he continued to violate Court orders to file required tax reports. Also listed were an additional 50 unnamed “John Does” - employees of the Oregon Department of Justice and Secretary of State’s Office.